Shared Doorbell list

Some scenarios calls for reusing a list of users on a Doorbell across different Doorbells.


Example scenario:

  • A building with doorbell on two different doors; Main entrance, and back entrance. This requires setting up two different Doorbell's, for the two doors. In this scenario, these two doors lead to the same hallway, and the users that should be available to call on each Doorbell is the same; The buildings residents. To avoid having to maintain two equal list of users, we allow one list to reference another.


Terms used in this article

  • Source list - A list of users on a Doorbell
  • Reference list - A list of users on a Doorbell that references another list, and does not have users of it's own


How to use this
In order to reuse a list of users, you first need that source list. This source list will be the list you maintain, while any referencing list will not allow any changes directly to it. Once you have a source list ready, find the Doorbell you want to create a reference list on. This can be a new list, or an existing empty list.


Assuming in the examples below that we have a list already: Main Entrance Doorbell




Creating a new Doorbell/list; Go "Doorbell" on the Menu and either create a new Doorbell, or select an existing Doorbell. Then click the "Add users" button, and the menu item "Use list from another Doorbell". This will start a dialog where you can select a source list to reference.



This will leave you with a set of users that are sourced from the list you choose. You will note that you cannot change any of the users on this list, nor remove or add to it. To make changes, you will have to go back to the source list and make changes there. Those changes will reflect back to the refrence list.


Unlinking two lists
If you ever wish to disconnect the two lists, navigate to the reference list and click the burger menu in the top right corner, followed by the menu item "Unlink from source". This will cut the link between the two, resulting in two lists with the same users who are no longer linked and that can be edited independently.



Note

  • When linking two lists, we dont copy the users between list, we reference it. This means if you change the original list, the reference list will also change.
  • You cannot change a reference list. You have to make any changes you want on the source list
  • If you "unlink" two lists, we copy the users from the source list to the reference list. The result is that you have the same list of users on both lists, but you can now change both of them individually
  • A source list can be referenced by any number of other lists
  • A source list cannot itself reference another source list

Updated on: 25/08/2026

Was this article helpful?

Share your feedback

Cancel

Thank you!